instagram has for many years become one of the social networks the most used and in which more hours are invested, both to spend time and to work. It is used to get informed, stay in touch, discover new products or services, learn, reach more people, show what you do, find inspiration and much more.
But all is not so positive. Sometimes you can find accounts that are annoying, that you don’t like, that you think are sharing offensive content, or that you don’t want them to see what you’re doing. In these cases, we have the option of disable, restrict, block or delete an account on this platform.
Initially, Instagram allowed to block a person and ready, but over time it has gained all kinds of intermediate points, because in social networks we must not only have extremist functions. There were also options restrict accounts and deactivate them, which also restricts interactions, but not as drastically as a lock.
If there are any users who have questions about the differences between blocking, restricting, and muting people on Instagram, Infobae brings what each is and how to set it up.
cut account on instagram
This tool is the least restrictive and technically not very drastic. What changes is the visibility of posts from that account, whether they are regular posts or stories. Basically, it’s a function when you don’t want to see what that person is posting.
Mute account on Instagram. (photo: Lowi)
Accounts that have been deactivated can continue to view posts, comment and send messages, and they will not know that this measure was chosen, although they can detect it if their messages are never interacted with.
The way to deactivate or reactivate someone on Instagram is very simple:
1. Login to person’s profile.
2. Press the button Following.
3. touch Silence.
4. Check the box you want to disable (Posts or stories).
Restrict account on Instagram
A bar above silence is constraining, limiting the interactions the person can have with themselves.
Accounts that have been restricted can still comment and send messages, but messages come in as requests and comments are only visible if approved. It’s like leaving this account to talk to each other without them noticing.
A person can be restricted by swiping left on a comment, via the Privacy tab in settings. (photo: Infobae)
Restricted accounts cannot see if one is online, although they can still see your posts and stories. They may not know their accounts have been restricted, but they can intuitively know if they suddenly can’t get a read receipt or see that they’re logged in.
To restrict an Instagram account, follow these steps:
1. Login to profile you want to restrict.
2. Press the button menus ⋮
3. touch Restrict.
Block an account on Instagram
The concept of blocking is the easiest to distinguish, since it involves cutting off any type of contact with the person in question. After blocking someone on Instagram, you won’t be able to send messages or comments, see if there’s one online, or view messages or stories.
Block instagram account. (photo: tusexpertosapss.com)
Blocking works both ways and even the user will not be able to see that person’s full profile until it is deleted. Instagram doesn’t let the other person know they’ve been blocked, although it’s pretty obvious when this happens as the account will mysteriously disappear. Comments and likes sent from a blocked account disappear and will no longer be returned, even if the block is removed.
Here’s how you block someone on Instagram:
1. Login to profile of the account you want to block.
2. Press the button menus ⋮
3. Choose To block.
4. You can choose to block this account or block this account and any future associated accounts you may create.
Differences between mute, restrict and block someone on Instagram
Differences between mute, restrict and block someone on Instagram. (capture: Engadget Android)