One of the famous characteristics of WhatsApp and hated by many users are the groups. Ultimately, almost no one can escape WhatsApp groups, as they are often needed to communicate with people at work, in a classroom, or even with family.
The problem is that many times, groups can become overwhelming if you don’t know how to manage them so they don’t become a hassle when using a smartphone.
In order to lead a calmer life in the face of WhatsApp groups, the popular messaging app offers a series of options and settings that allow users to control from their notifications, the messages received that are archived or that can add to new groups, as Infobae will show below:
This way you can avoid being added to other groups
If you do not want to be added to groups without your consent, go to Settings > Accounts > Privacy > Groups. There you can configure who can add you to the group: anyone (everyone), only your contacts, only certain people or nobody.
in option ‘My contacts, except…’ is where you can choose which contacts can have permission to add you to a group.
If selected ‘All contacts’ (icon at the top right), no one will be able to add you to the group and this person will have to invite you with a link so that you can accept yourself and thus join the group.
Disable automatic downloading of media files
With this option, you can avoid automatic downloading of your group’s photos, videos, audios and documents.
To do this, access Settings > Storage & Data and configure automatic downloads with mobile data and WiFi, uncheck all options so that you have to manually upload each received file yourself.
Hang on to media visibility
Thanks to groups, dozens of photos and videos can be received every day, and sometimes unwanted content.
To prevent these photos and videos from appearing in your camera roll iPhone Is androidyou need to access the group information by clicking on the name of the group and in the Media files display mode, and finally Activate the option that you do not want to download media files from this chat in the gallery.
Archive groups that cannot be left
If someone has been added to a group they don’t want to belong to, but also don’t want to leave, they can be archived so that the group no longer appears in the chat preview.
In the case of an Android phone, select the group by long pressing and clicking the file icon. The group will move to the new section Archive. Archived chats are muted and will remain archived by default even if new messages are received.
On the other hand, on iPhone, it is enough to go in the ‘cats’ (in Settings) and select the option that says ‘Keep discussions archived’.
deactivate the notifications
Disabling group notifications is one of the options required for configuration. To do this, enter a group and from the options menu choose Deactivate the notifications.
There you can choose 8 hours, 1 week or Always. By default it won’t show notifications either, but if all you want to do is stop playing sound and see messages, you need to enable the ‘Show notifications’.
Finally, for those large groups, you can customize your notifications so that each one sounds different.
To do this, you must enter the group and touch the name of the group to see more information. There you will find the option ‘Customize notifications’ Yes choose notification tones, vibrations and whether or not they are high priority notifications.